The United Nations (UN) International Day for the Eradication of Poverty is observed on October 17 each year since 1993. It promotes people’s awareness of the need to eradicate poverty and destitution worldwide, particularly in developing countries.

The commemoration of the International Day is based on the theme ‘Coming together with those furthest behind to build an inclusive world of universal respect for human rights and dignity.’ Call to Action to fight to end poverty everywhere in all forms is in the United Nations’ agenda 2030 for sustainable development.

On this day, Various non-government organizations and community charities support the Day for the Eradication of Poverty by actively calling for country leaders and governments to make the fight against poverty a central part of foreign policy. World Poverty Day aims to promote dialogue and understanding among people living in poverty across the world, their communities and the world community at large.

World Poverty Day provides an opportunity to acknowledge the struggles of those furthest behind economically and gives them a platform to have their issues, needs and concerns heard.

Poverty has many faces and it is a struggle which affects communities far and wide across the globe. Poverty is more than lack of money. It is hunger and malnutrition,  illiteracy, homelessness, lack of access to medical care, inability to provide for one’s self or their family and social discrimination. It is powerlessness and lack of representation and freedom.

No poverty is Number 1 of the 17 Goals of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development. This goal is to end poverty in all its forms across the world. The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs), otherwise known as the Global Goals, are a universal call to action to end poverty, protect the planet and ensure that all people enjoy peace and prosperity.

There are about 800 million people living in extreme poverty and women and children have far fewer resources to cope with poverty which results in more loss for the society and economy.  In 2000, the UN adopted the Millennium Development Goals(MDGs) and identified eight contributors to human suffering.

  1. Poverty and Hunger
  2. Inequality in education
  3. Gender inequality
  4. Child morality
  5. Poor maternal health
  6. Infectious diseases
  7. A changing environment
  8. Unsustainable development

The 17 SDGs build on the successes of the MDGs, but including new areas such as climate change, economic inequality, innovation, sustainable consumption, peace and justice, among other priorities. The goals are interconnected – often the key to success on one will involve tackling issues more commonly associated with another.

International Day for the Eradication of Poverty calls for all countries and all people to come together for the Agenda to be successful. We have to work together by creating and nurturing a genuine partnership with people living with poverty to build an inclusive world where all people can enjoy human rights and lead lives with dignity.

Sources: United Nations, Daily Pioneer,
SustyVibes is a one-stop online platform for all sustainability news and trends from Nigeria and Africa at large. Contact us: [email protected]